• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 PatIam

PatIam

• Members
  • 617 posts
  • LocationEast Tennessee

Posted 14 June 2017 - 10:09 AM

Now that I have been playing for 4 years and getting by with holding the pick, I need to finally solve my problems with a pick.

I have held the pick in my right hand 1)between the index and thumb with the pick touching both fingertips. 2)held the pick with the index and thumb with the pick touching the index finger just past the first knuckle. 3) held the pick between the index and middle finger touching the index and middle fingers at the finger tips.  I have used smooth picks, picks with raised dots, scored picks, picks with soft grippers, etc. 

The problem is that the pick rotates in my grip.  I have gripped lightly, gripped hard, and variations in between.  Still rotates.

I have very good strength in my fingers so the issue is not one of tension on the pick, again I have tried light pressure, heavy pressure, and all pressures in between.  Still rotates.

I can use a pick without it rotating if I pick individual strings, but when I move to two or more as in partial chords or full chords, rotation occurs. 

Has anyone addressed and solved this problem?

Pat

L&M Guitar  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20

Fender Kingman Elvis Presley

Boulder Creek ECL-2

Boulder Creek ECR2-B *

Gibson Midtown Custom *

Boulder Creek S3-AN

Fender Telecaster FSR Custom HH DiMarzio - Gold *

Takamine G406S New York

Harmony Sovereign H1270-S67*

Ibanez AVN3MHE-OPN Parlor*

Alvarez AC65HCE

Cordoba C5 CE

(* - Repaired)

Fender Blues Jr., Acoustic A20, Yamaha  THR5A

#2 oldjock

oldjock

• Members
  • 291 posts

Posted 14 June 2017 - 10:57 AM

Pat, I have the same problems as you. I have been playing for almost three years, mostly rhythm strumming.
There are probably close to three dozen picks in my desk. Like you I even tried the gel stickers, none of which have solved the problem.