Photo

Acoustic Guitar Neck wider than e-Guitar. Why?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Norbert

Norbert

• Members
  • 12 posts
  • LocationDuesseldorf, Germany

Posted 30 August 2012 - 02:31 PM

I am a beginner so excuse this probably rather stupid question. Why is the neck of the acoustic guitar wider than the neck of an electric guitar? Are there acoustic guitars with the same neck-width as an electric guitar?
"Some people might get some pleasure out of hate
Me, I've enough already on my plate
People might need some tension to relax
[Me?] I'm too busy dodging between the flak"
The Jam - Going Underground

#2 naccoachbob

naccoachbob

• Members
  • 1,360 posts
  • LocationNacogdoches, Tx

Posted 30 August 2012 - 02:48 PM

Without being able to provide specifics, I believe Yes there are acoustics with neck widths - in particular nut widths that are the same size as electrics. If you're speaking about classical acoustic guitars, they are normally much wider. I don't know the reason for that - do nylon strings vibrate more or have a wider arc in their vibrations? They don't pull near the tension that steel strings do, so I guess that's possible. Is the arc large enough to be a problem on a smaller neck, I don't know for sure.

Play well,

Bob
Session 11

Gear: Les Paul Studio, a Homebuilt Honduran Mahogany/Engelmann Spruce acoustic (in my pic), a Home built Mahogany/Sitka Spruce acoustic, Terada acoustic, Strat Squier Affinity with Noiseless Pups

#3 worknprogress

worknprogress

• Members
  • 240 posts
  • LocationBoone, NC

Posted 30 August 2012 - 08:36 PM

Q: Why are acoustic necks thicker?