• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 TroutBum

TroutBum

• Members
  • 30 posts
  • LocationNortheastern California

Posted 12 March 2012 - 12:48 AM

Off the internet I printed two charts for proper capo placement--one chart for flats and another for sharps. Now, a guitar player at church today is placing the capo on the first fret to play in the key of G when the music is written in A flat. I was pretty sure my charts for flats does not indicate you can capo to any fret in A Flat to play in the key of G. I brought this up to the guitar player in question and he tells me I don't know poop from putty. While everyone was playing in A flat, he was chording in G.

I thought I'd come in here and see which one of us is right.

I say if you capo at the first fret in A flat, you can chord in A. He chords in G. Since I am just a beginner, I thought wiser guitarists could help me out. What say you?

#2 novograblenof

novograblenof

• Members
  • 255 posts
  • LocationNorthern California and Nevada

Posted 12 March 2012 - 01:48 AM

Hello Troutbum
I saw this on the Gibson Skill House, maybe it will help.
http://www2.gibson.c...Use-a-Capo.aspx

Take care
Michael

L&MG  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20                    

#3 naccoachbob

naccoachbob

• Members
  • 1,391 posts
  • LocationNacogdoches, Tx

Posted 12 March 2012 - 02:03 AM

If you capo the 1st fret and play A, you're playing Bb.
So a G then would be Ab.
Your chords move up in tone a half step.

Play well,

Bob
Session 11

Gear: Les Paul Studio, a Self-built Honduran Mahogany/Engelmann Spruce acoustic (in my pic), a Self-built Mahogany/Sitka Spruce acoustic, Terada acoustic, Strat Squier Affinity with Noiseless Pups, MIM HSS Strat

#4 Craigh

Craigh

• Members
  • 466 posts
  • LocationNorthwestern Wisconsin

Posted 12 March 2012 - 01:37 PM