Photo

Tube vs. Non-tube - what's the difference?

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 Travis S

Travis S

• Members
  • 230 posts

Posted 22 May 2011 - 10:50 AM

Ok, I am a total noob when it comes to amps. I am going to be buying one soon, but I am not sure which one to get.

What's the difference between a tube and non-tube amp?

I am looking at either a Mustang I (I don't need anything big, I play mostly at night when my kids are asleep) or a Vox Valvetronix 20+.

I am in session 4, about to go to session 5, so right now I don't play any particular style, but I'd like one that is versatile but yet I can't spend much money right now. Any thoughts? Thanks!!

Travis

Epiphone Sheraton II | Epiphone Acoustic PR-4E | Cordoba Fusion Orchestra CE | Vox Valvetronix VT20+

#2 Resurrected

Resurrected

Grumpy Old Git

• Members
  • 4,348 posts
  • LocationWest Midlands, United Kingdom

Posted 22 May 2011 - 12:17 PM

****stares at the open can of worms****
http://www.re-warwick.co.uk/

Morality is doing right, no matter what you are told.
Religion is doing what you are told, no matter what is right - H. L. Mencken

The blues are the roots; Everything else is the fruits.

Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for dinner. Liberty is a well-armed lamb contesting the vote.

#3 JWELLS

JWELLS

• Members
  • 5,976 posts
  • LocationAnnapolis, Maryland USA

Posted 22 May 2011 - 12:39 PM

About two thousand dollars! Lotsa luck. :electricguitar:
Dreams alone won't go very far; Perfect practice will make you a star.

#4 Scamp2000

Scamp2000

• Members
  • 18 posts
  • LocationMaryland

Posted 22 May 2011 - 02:40 PM

1) Tube amps are usually more expensive and require a little bit more maintenance than solid state amps.
2) I've found that tube amps sound better. They have a "warmer" (better) tone compared to the solid state amps I've played (although I haven't really used many of either).